City of Fort Lauderdale – Citizens' Committee of Recognition City Commission Chambers – 1st Floor City Hall December 19, 2011– 9:00 a.m. Minutes

Committee Members Present

Mayor Robert O. Cox Mayor James Naugle, Chair Mayor Robert A. Dressler Mayor E. Clay Shaw Eugenia Ellis

Committee Member(s) Absent

E. Birch Willey

Also Present

Petula Burks, Staff Liaison Betty Shelley, Imperial Point HOA

Welcome

The meeting was called to order at 9:28 a.m. by Chair, James Naugle.

Approval of Minutes

MOTION: Ellis/Dressler. Motion was made to approve the minutes of the January 19, 2010 meeting. Passed unanimously.

Citizen Recognition Awards

Chair Naugle began the discussion of the awards with the Citizen of the Year Category.

Citizen of the Year

Chair Naugle opened the floor for discussion of this year's Citizen of the Year nominees. Genia Ellis brought Richard Mancuso to the body for consideration. Betty Shelley spoke on behalf of Mr. Mancuso stating that even though he has been homebound, he is still very involved with the City and its operations. Member Ellis stated that he emailed 17 redistricting maps during the redistricting process, is the co-chair of the Neighborhood Development Code Reform Committee for the Council of Fort Lauderdale Civic Associations and stays involved no matter what. Member Dressler also spoke on Mr. Mancuso's behalf saying that he's never heard anyone with anything but positive words about him. He also stated that Mr. Mancuso could be considered as a candidate for Distinguished Citizen as well.

It was recommended to move John Fuhrer to the Honored Founder category and to carry-over Chuck Malkus.

MOTION: Ellis/Dressler. Motion was made to recommend Richard Mancuso for Citizen of the Year 2011-2012. Passed unanimously.

Distinguished Citizen

Chair Naugle opened the floor for discussion of this year's Distinguished Citizen nominees. Member Cox and Naugle spoke on behalf of Nuccia McCormick. The recommendation was made to move R. Emmett McTigue to the Honored Founder category.

MOTION: Ellis/Cox. Motion was made to recommend Nuccia McCormick as Distinguished Citizen. Passed unanimously.

Honored Founder

Chair Naugle opened the floor for discussion of this year's Honored Founder nominees. The committee discussed all nominees and agreed to carry over Von D. Mizell and Ivory Mizell as well as John Fuhrer and Emmett McTigue.

MOTION: Dressler/Shaw. Motion was made to recommend Dr. Calvin Shirley as Honored Founder for 2011-2012. Passed unanimously.

Exemplary Former Employee

Chair Naugle opened the floor for discussion of this year's Exemplary Former Employee.

Members Ellis and Dressler spoke on behalf of Earnest Jones.

MOTION: Ellis/Dressler. Motion was made to recommend Earnest Jones as Exemplary Former City Employee for 2011-2012. Passed unanimously.

The following names will be recommended to the City Commission for its approval. The Committee selected all nominees unanimously.

Citizen of the Year – Richard Mancuso Distinguished Citizen - Nuccia McCormick Honored Founder – Dr. Calvin Shirley Exemplary Former City Employee – Earnest Jones

Selection of Chair

Chair Naugle asked for nominations for a new chair. Committee Member Dressler nominated Mayor Naugle for a second term. Passed by acclamation.

Application submission

The meeting adjourned at 9:58 am.